Print Page   |   Contact Us
News & Press: ICCP

Three New Fellows Announced By ICCP

Friday, April 25, 2003   (0 Comments)
Posted by: ICCP

The Institute for Certification of Computing Professionals (ICCP) has announced the selection of three Fellows of the ICCP as part of a 30th anniversary celebration. The new fellows are John K. Swearingen, George R. Eggert, and Roland D. Spaniol. The new Fellows were presented with their awards on Saturday, Feb. 22, 2003, at the 30th ICCP anniversary dinner at the River Inn Riverwalk Hotel in San Antonio, Texas.

John Swearingen was the founding President of the ICCP in 1973. He had been President of the Data Processing Management Association (DPMA), now the Association for Information Technology Professionals (AITP), and was instrumental in the development of the first professional certification examination for information processing, the Certificate in Data Processing (CDP). He was employed in the industry, and for many years served as the Director of Information Services for the United States Senate.

George R. Eggert was the first full-time Executive Director of the ICCP. He served as a President of the DPMA, as President of the American Federation for Information Processing Societies (AFIPS) and a President of the International Federation of Information Processing (IFIP). He was formerly Director of the Chicago Office of Planning and Management, Defense Contract Administration Services Region (DCASR), U.S. Department of Defense.

Roland D. Spaniol was a charter member of the first ICCP Board of Directors in 1973 and still serves on the board representing the International Society for Technology Education (ISTE). He has served in every office of the Executive Committee, some more than once. He was the first President of the ICCP-Education Foundation. Eastern Illinois University employed him for many years in both administrative and teaching roles. He holds a PhD in Business from the University of Iowa.

Fellows of the ICCP are persons selected to be honored for exemplary service to the professional certification movement in the computing and information processing profession. The three new fellows will join an illustrious historical group of five: Grace Murray Hopper (1981), Paul M. Pair (1982), Coleman Furr (1988), Herbert B. Safford (1998), and Daniel D. McCracken (1998).

The ICCP was created by a consortium of professional associations headed by the Association for Computing Machinery (ACM) and the Data Processing Management Association (DPMA), now the Association for Information Technology Professionals (AITP). Today the ICCP is composed of six constituent societies, which, in addition to ACM and AITP, include the Association for Women in Computing (AWC), the Canadian Information Processing Society (CIPS), DAMA International (the Data Management Association) and the International Society for Technology in Education (ISTE). The ICCP now offers seventeen professional certification examinations and two professional credentials (the CCP and ACP) for the workforce in information technology.

For more information, call ICCP at 1-800-843-8227, or visit

Stay connected with AITP!

Copyright © 2011-2016 Association of Information Technology Professionals, All Rights Reserved.
Use of this web site constitutes acceptance of the Terms of Use and Privacy Policy.
AITP Headquarters, 1120 Route 73, Ste. 200, Mount Laurel, NJ 08054-5113
Phone: 1.800.224.9371 or 856.380.6910 · Fax: 856.439.0525 · Email:

Association Management Software Powered by YourMembership  ::  Legal